I'm a Newb...again

Tell us about yourself. We want to hear your story so we can all support and encourage you!
wager9

I'm a Newb...again

Post by wager9 » Fri May 12, 2017 5:38 pm

Hello - my name is Denny.

My anxiety disorder has spiked to the "imposing on my life level" 3 times in my life. The first I was in college and was mostly panic disorder and GAD. I ordered and went through the program (on cassette) and got out of the anxiety pit. It was wonderful.

Then in the early 2K's I got another bout of it and with some lifestyle changes and I did need meds that time, I got out again.

This time...is a bit of a tricky one. I don't get full blown panic attacks anymore but certainly do get the anxiety feelings. Much of mine is obsessive worrying about my well being at this point. I worry about anything and everything that can lead to my demise. It all precipitated from a separation and not being able to see my daughter every day (joint custody). This broke my heart not seeing my little girl all the time and from that point (about a year ago) it went downhill and my GAD/ OCD has flared like no other!

I am on week 2 of the program and it is a refresher to hear the symptoms of all this stuff again but I am eager to get into deeper work with my thoughts, re-programming and dealing with the hint of depression I am feeling as well. Along with depression, I have experienced insomnia which I never had before and also (not sure if it is a side effect of meds or what) an odd sleeping occurrence called myoclonic jerks (they are essentially that little jolt you feel when you doze off to sleep). They are harmeless but I of course catastrophize them and the insomnia into the darkest end of days that will lead to my demise. I spend many hours of the day worrying about stuff. The content changes often but lately it has been "what if these sleep issues...blah blah blah..."