How do I stop?????

Are obsessive scary thoughts ruling your life? Do these thoughts seem beyond your control? Here’s how you can quickly address them and begin to feel better.
rfn379

Post by rfn379 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:58 am

OK so I am new to this program and website. I've been dealing with depression and anxiety on and off for several years now since I had gotten out of a very toxic relationship. My current problem that I just can't seem to shake has to do with the relationship I am in now. I've been with this girl for almost 7 months and she is great. The problem is not her...it's in my head. A while back we had talked about our past, which I know was probably not a good idea but it somehow came up in the course of a conversation. I don't even remember how to be honest. But because at that time my depression and anxiety was particularly bad it started this whole thing in my head about people she was with before me (thoughts, mental pictures, etc.). Since then I have bumped into two different people she had a very brief physical/intimate history with (no sex...just hands) and I just can't seem to get the thoughts of these two guys out of my head. One is a guy that works at our company and I just happened to see him in the cafeteria one day and the other is a guy that is in her circle of friends from college. Now it's not that I am going to have to be face to face with either one of them on a regular basis, but the fact that I have a face to put to these people is making it tough for me to get the thought of them out of my head. I don't have this problem with anyone else she's dated in the past, just these two guys in particular that I have run in to. I don't know if it's insecurity or jealousy or what, but the fact that I know what these guys look like and that it is likely I may see them again at some point in the future just makes my head spin. I should mention that my girlfriend knows about this problem and that it's something that was brought on by my depres