Stress and Obsessive Thinking

Suffering from OCD? Post your history, experience, comments and/or suggestions
NeverQuit

Post by NeverQuit » Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:40 am

Hey all!

I'm new here, although I have been through the program once before and am going through it for the second time. My mom did it a while ago, and passed it onto me. I am a college student, and although I have always battled obsessive thinking in some form or another since I was younger, it took on a life of its own once I graduated highschool. I am a very analytical person (aren't we all?) and have always liked to have things perfectly set in my mind - what I'm doing, what I think about this, what I think about that, what I will be doing five years from now, etc.

I entered a relationship with a great Christian guy about a year ago, and that really upped my anxiety. I was at my worst the few months after we began the relationship. My parents and I finally realized that I had OCD, when I found myself checking doors and windows into the night!

I find that I second guess myself a LOT (definitely part of OCD). Being in this relationship has been a struggle for me at times, but I know that I want it and that I will NOT allow my OCD to make a quitter out of me.

I am just wondering if anyone else can relate to going through this transition time and feeling anxious?

Thanks!

Pauly J

Post by Pauly J » Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:54 pm

Neverquit,