Perfectionism and OCD

Suffering from OCD? Post your history, experience, comments and/or suggestions
musigaljm

Post by musigaljm » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:28 pm

Hi! I'm a music teacher, new to the program, and I'm really wondering if anyone can relate to what I'm struggling with... hopefully we'll be able to toss around some ideas for coping with this... I really struggle with OCD and perfectionistic tendencies. I graduated at the top of my class in high school, most likely to succeed, and I think that mentality has followed me into life. The "necessity to have control" gets the best of me and I have to look at lists a thousand times to make sure that I've accomplished everything. I feel overwhelmed at work, because I want to do everything before I go home. I end up staying really late at my job, because I feel guilty going home early if everything isn't completely accomplished. I can really relate to the people from Session 1 Audio who said that "we are the doers and shakers" of the business world--we will not only get a job done, but try to do it perfectly. Does anyone have any ideas on what has worked for them? I get so obsessed with being a perfectionist and taking everyone else's problems on myself because I am way too sensitive, but the guilt I feel if I don't do these things can be unbearable! I've noticed it as body symptoms too...when I get stressed out about something--pretty much everything!--my right side of my stomach begins to hurt. It's embarassing to talk about these things to people, because I'm afraid they'll think I'm crazy. I've been to the doctor for this pain--they couldn't find anything wrong. Paid for catscan, endoscopy, abdominal ultrasound, the whole 9 yards--just to discover I'm doing this to myself. Is anyone else struggling with this as well? I would love to hear what you all have to say! Please help if you can...Hope I can help some of you, too...Thanks again. :-)
Julie

AMANDAJ

Post by AMANDAJ » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:56 pm

Musigaljm