long but please read!!! I'm desperate for help

Anyone suffering from depression may post their history, experience, comments and/or suggestions. Please refrain from indepth discussions about medicines or other therapies.
newlife11

long but please read!!! I'm desperate for help

Post by newlife11 » Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:10 pm

Hi, I'm new to this program and I just wanted to share my story.

I use to be a laid back and outgoing person. I was always a little shy but usually overcame that pretty quick. I played sports all my life and loved the outdoors (hunting and fishing). I was so passionate about everything I did and woke up with motivation everyday. I started drinking alcohol and chewing tobacco in high school. I never seemed to have hangovers and would often go to football practice/conditioning the morning after a binge with no problems.

I never dated anyone in high school but when I got to college I started dating around. In 2005 I was 19 and finishing my freshman year of college. I had dated a couple of different girls that year and neither relationship lasted very long but it didn't bother me (both were ended by me). That summer I went on a vacation from my home Ohio to New Mexico for a family members wedding. I was a groomsman and fell for the maid of honor (who was 17). We hung out for a couple of days after the wedding and when I left I couldn't get her off my mind. We emailed each other everyday. My parents could see the change in me because my partying habits stopped and I stayed home most nights. Since my college didn't start fall quarter until the end of September I decided to go back to New Mexico for a couple of weeks to work construction for my uncle building houses in the mountains outside of Albuquerque. I was so excited to see this girl I fell for, this was the only reason I was going back out there.