Idle Time & I'm alone to my negative thoughts..

Anyone suffering from depression may post their history, experience, comments and/or suggestions. Please refrain from indepth discussions about medicines or other therapies.
Ivan28

Post by Ivan28 » Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:22 am

Hi all.. I have been working slow hours these past few weeks.. Last week, I worked 16 hours, this week I'll be lucky to get 13... I work as a personal trainer with no benefits.. I have a master's degree and feel like I'm not maximizing it b/c of my anxiety/depression... I am having trouble filling in the hours and it's annoying me... The good news is I make $28/hr, which will hopefully become $30/hr next year after having attained my master's this year..

Problem is, I need to be working at least 4-6 hours a day to feel productive..

I don't have the energy to even recruit clients and I am only working out to relieve my stress.. I feel so useless sitting around the house alone that I make myself do things, b/c if I don't, I feel like I'm going to go crazy and I feel worthless not working..

I'd rather be anxious working than anxious NOT working... At least after the work, I have a sense of accomplishment...

I will pray ppl start requesting my services in the near future.. I'm barely hanging on with a few long-term clients...

I kind of like my job now, b/c I am not going to try and progress myself up in the working world UNTIL I get my anxiety to a manageable level..

I'd like some insight on how I handled this very slow day..

I only have 1 client today... Yesterday I had 4, so it was easier for me..

1) Woke up at 9 am, listened to relaxation CD

2) Made a very healthy breakfast (3 egg whites, 2 slices turkey bacon, oatmeal packet with old-fashioned oats added, dried blueberries, almonds, walnuts, pomegranate juice, 2 tablets of fish oil and 1 tablet of joint boost, 1 cup of decaffeinated green tea)

3) I then journaled on my computer for 30-min..