Need help coming up with a positive replacement thought!

Learn how to comfort yourself, encourage yourself, and like yourself. This session is chock-full of POWERFUL tools for taking charge and changing your life for the better.
TryingToChange

Need help coming up with a positive replacement thought!

Post by TryingToChange » Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:56 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm on week 3 of the program, but this is my first time posting. I definitely believe in the power of self-talk and positive thinking. With a lot of my negative thoughts, I am able to come up with a positive thought to replace them. But there's one (my major negative thought) that I am having trouble replacing. I was hoping maybe some of you would have some ideas or have been through the same thing.

One of my biggest fears is being sick to my stomach (by throwing up or having diarrhea). So I "what-if" think about it and I worry about it a lot. If my stomach gets upset even a little bit, I'll start to get anxious, which of course only makes the stomach worse.

Here's my problem. When I have body symptoms like shortness of breath, dizziness, rapid heartbeat, I'm actually really good at telling myself "it's just anxiety" and "nothing horrible is really happening to me; I'm not going to die, pass out, have a heart attack, or anything." But I can't tell myself "This is just anxiety; I'm not actually going to throw up." or "I'm not actually going to have diarrhea." Because, these things DO actually happen sometimes! So how do I calm myself? I can't imagine a positive replacement thought that would actually make me feel better. I can't imagine saying "it's not a big deal" because throwing up is a big deal to me or getting sick to my stomach, especially if I'm in public or at work, IS a big deal. No, it's not going to kill me. But it is beyond unpleasant and very embarrassing.