I feel so alone

Comments and inquiries to share with others. (Questions for Staff can be posted below.)
chill1981

I feel so alone

Post by chill1981 » Thu May 31, 2012 6:28 pm

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting anything on here. I thought becoming a member would help so that I could find some support from others. I feel very alone most of the time, and although I know that I am my only safe person, it comforts me knowing that others have this problem. I recently was in a Practical Nursing program and dropped out due to anxiety. I can honestly say that anxiety has ruined my life in many ways. I was doing well up until 3rd semester clinical when we were now in the hospital instead of Long term care. I didn't know what to do and literally freaked out. The first 2 days were awful, but I thought I'd feel better after the weekend. Come monday evening, I was doing all my research on my client and it was so overwhelming.. I was so scared of things going wrong like the week before.. I wasn't giving myself the benefit of the doubt... of course I was feeling anxious because I had never been in acute care before!! I was having diarrhea the next morning and I didn't feel like I had anything under control in my mind. I didn't have a plan for how I was going to care for my clients.. I just felt so scared. I dropped out of school and then I spiraled into a bit of a depression. I hated myself for the decision I made, and I kept replaying those few days of acute care over and over again in my mind.. what could I have done differently? why did I not just stick it out? I was so afraid of looking like I didn't know what I was doing that I decided to quit!! I feel so stupid since I made my decision, because now I realize it's because of my anxiety. I bought this anxiety program years ago, but after going on an antidepressant I felt on top of the world.. nothing scared me.. so I thought I was okay.. I was so wrong. So here I am, not in school, back working, and I feel like I've