My Thoughts on Obsessive Compulsive Disorder!!!

Suffering from OCD? Post your history, experience, comments and/or suggestions

Post by Guest » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:53 pm

I know many of you probably have heard some very scary things about OCD...I am no professional, but, I do NOT buy into what some of the professionals say causes this disorder!!!

I think this is a "learned behavior"...I believe that it usually begins in child hood!!! I do NOT believe that it is any type of mental disorder, nor, will I ever believe that one!!!!

I used to suffer from OCD...I would check and re-check everything I did...I also thought everything had to be a certain way. I also had fears of different objects and just "scary thoughts" which I knew made no logical sense at all to me..

I thought the table mats had to be lined up just directly in front of the chairs, and that the chairs had to be pushed in a certain way....
I could just go on and on with my thinking pattern...

I was just a "perfectionist" thinker, who thought at times, that something bad would happen if I didn't do this or that over and over again!!!

I did not go to therapy to overcome these behaviors...I had not even received the program, as of yet!!!

I just made a "conscious" decision not to torture myself in this way any longer...

Life is just too short, and I was determined to loosen up a little, and not allow the trivial things in life to get to me!!!

I just stopped those behaviors, one by one...
I don't even remember which one, that I quit doing first...

If I could stop those behaviors on my own, without professional help of any type, then, how could these type of behaviors be anything but "learned behaviors"?

I think we just get into the habit of doing things a certain way, and we tend to think we need to continue doing so, for whatever reason!!!

If I can unlearn these "learned behaviors" by just stopping myself from doing them, then, they must not be anything at all to concern oneself with...