How to deal with setbacks

Do you have such high expectations of yourself and others that you’re constantly disappointed? Learn how to have realistic, reasonable expectations and be happier than you’ve ever been before.
Nugget28

Post by Nugget28 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:18 am

Hi everyone,

I am new to the programm. I started about a month ago and I am on lesson 4 now. For me this is the most difficult lesson so far. I discovered that I have ridiculous high expectations for myself and also other people. I'm having such a hard time letting this go because it makes me feel like I don't care about it if I let it go. It's so weird.

This past week I was dwelling on the fact that a colleague at work told me I didn't do a good job on an assignment. I was so mad and hurt.The whole day I was worrying and I couldn't stop stressing about it. One time I replaced my neg. thoughts with positive ones and then I didn't even think about replacing the thoughts anymore. When I got home I was eating and I had a panick attack. Thankfully it didn't last long and thanks to the programm I calmed down.
Two days later I was going to bed and start worrying about something and my heartbeat starts racing. It took my an hour to get my heartbeat down again.
These last few days I have been feeling kinda strange. I don't feel anxious or depressed but it feels kind of like a lost feeling.
Before this all happend I was feeling great. I felt great, I didn't think about anxiety. Now it feels like I'm back at the beginning.
Does this sound familiar to anyone? Do you guys have any advise how to deal with this?

cream cheese

Post by cream cheese » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:48 pm