Facial flushing with attacks

You will gain an understanding of the causes of anxiety and depression as well as some of the background traits, personality traits, and physical symptoms.
nrsesarah

Facial flushing with attacks

Post by nrsesarah » Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:01 pm

Hi everyone, This is my first big post. I just joined the program and am waiting for the cd's and dvd's to show up. I am a nurse and I work in a trauma hospital in the surgical ICU. Feels good to tell people that but it is a huge source of anxiety. It scares me sometimes to think that peoples lives are in my hands. I have been doing this for about four years now, me and my old roommate did traveling nursing, we left upstate NY and went to the big apple and then LA. It was a great 6 months but when I came back to my bf and old job in upstate I immediately started having anxiety. A lot kind of happened at once.. I moved in with my bf restarted my old job and bought a puppy. The first time i realized i had a panic attack was when I was at work and one of the doctors i knew from before asked me how my trip was... when I started to tell him I felt my adrenaline pumpng and my face feeling hot. The doctor looked at me and said "Why are you turning red? Did I say something wrong?" I was sooo embarassed. I had to walk away, I couldn't calm myself. This was the first time this had ever happened to me and the more I thought about it the more red I turned. I went into the bathroom and splashed water on my face. I knew I had to face the doctor again because I WORKEd with him... I was preparing for that conversation in my mind and it made me anxious all over again. Later on when I saw him again, he appologized whch made me feel like crap because he didnt do anything. I ended up just making a joke and said I was having a hot flash at age 26.