Going off Lorazepam and feel horrible!!!!!!!

Questions and experiences with prescription medications
connielyn

Going off Lorazepam and feel horrible!!!!!!!

Post by connielyn » Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:42 pm

I have been weaning off my Lorazepam for several months now. I ask my psychitrist how and he told me. He no longer is practicing he retired suddenly told his patients maybe a couple weeks before retiring so no phsichiatrist to go to now. I only go down 1/4 a pill and it's so painful. I don't kmow what i'm experiencing i feel like my throat is closing my chest is so tense it hurts so bad and my head sometimes feels so much pressure, I ache all over from muscle tension. will this ever end?? I don't sleep well. Sometimes I just want to go back up on my dosage so this goes away or will it even then. This doen't feel like the anxiety I use to have. It's so constant and strong. Is this what it feels like to wean off?? I'm haveing trouble holding down a job or living a life?? I'm taking so Chinese Formulas and the Herbalist keeps saying "be strong" no one can be this strong and feel so bad. What have others experienced when weaning off???

Peace1217

Re: Going off Lorazepam and feel horrible!!!!!!!

Post by Peace1217 » Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:39 pm

connielyn - I just went through this with klonopin. I wish I had written about it. Is there another doctor you can go to to get a script?
My psych died in Sept and I am now seeing a new doctor who does not like klonopin so I was weaning down. I finally stopped the pill in the beginning of March (I went down from 4mgs to .5mgs) and I began to feel cold pins and needles in my chest, my right eye was bothering me. My head felt tight, my muscles twitched, especially arms and legs. The anxiety was constant and strong. I finally spoke to a pharmacist and he said I was going through withdrawal even when my doc said I wasn't. I knew it. That lasted a week until I couldn't and did not want to have those feelings any longer.