Neither Rhyme Nor Reason

Comments and inquiries to share with others. (Questions for Staff can be posted below.)
Awiest87

Neither Rhyme Nor Reason

Post by Awiest87 » Wed May 07, 2014 11:02 am

Hello,

My name is Alex. I am new to the program. I am 27 years of age and experienced my first panic attack 8 years ago. The first time I experienced a panic attack I was smoking Marijuana. It left me with a choking sensation and though I was still breathing, I could not feel the air entering or leaving my lungs/throat. I immediately stopped using Marijuana. From then on out, the panic attacks became worse and more frequent; I began to experience all sorts of different effects. The problem I've always had is trying to pin point why they occur. I don't feel depressed, life is good to me other than this issue. My panic attacks are totally sporadic. I can be working at my desk, behind the computer, driving or just hanging out with friends and POW! Pain down the arm, numbness, heart palps, head pressure, eye pressure, sweating, choking, coughing and more. ALL VIOLENT, ALL AT ONCE!!!!! For 7 years now I've been on xanax, multiple anti-depressants and have had two psychiatrists. Nothing seems to help. Everyone else here seems to have an underlying issue but I cannot find mine. I feel like it is pure hypochondriasis. It's to the point that I can't stair at one thing for long, I can't be on the highway without pulling over at least once. Etc. I don't feel like I am afraid, I'm not going to die or am I in denial? Anyways, I'm glad to be here and look forward to talking to you all.

randy c.

Re: Neither Rhyme Nor Reason

Post by randy c. » Mon May 12, 2014 4:45 pm