Decided to deal with +30 year old issue: lip picking.

Share your successes with others
Charlie Brown

Post by Charlie Brown » Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:49 pm

I couple of days before New Year’s Eve I was standing in the men's room at my job. Instead of making a resolution I thought: what else can I work on and self-improve? The question was quickly answered: lip picking.

I have been picking my lip for over 30 years. I guess I started around 8 or 10. I can remember being around this age, standing in front of a full-length mirror and watching my fingers pull at dry skin on my lip. I am 42 now. Most of the time I pick my skin during stressful, anxious, or frustrating times. When it bleeds my mind's reply is the usual: the bleeding was unfortunate but I had to pull/pick the lip. It feels good afterwards when I run my finger over the picked area and it's smooth. The majority of times when I pick I also go into a trance. I guess that since the majority of the trigger is stress and/or anxiety/frustration, the trance takes me away from the negativity--momentarily blocks it out.

Sometimes I will pick when I am bored, when I am concentrating, or for no apparent reason.

I have pretty much gotten used to the pain and afterwards always feel bad about the red spot that occurs after the bleeding has stopped.