Cycles of Alcoholism

Gain an understanding of the various types of medications so you can make informed decisions on your long-term care.
MinnChad

Post by MinnChad » Fri Mar 28, 2008 7:08 pm

People, let me guide you through a world that is healthy and destructive at the same time.
A spectacle of amazing proportions, it will undoubtedly garner some of your attentions.

The real beef of this post is the cycles that I go through with alcohol. I want to know how many more of us do the same, though I'm confidant that many of us follow the same pattern.

I'm still drinking, and I'm in session 12. But let me tell you something else. I've been doing the program for 6 months. I have a habit of taking breaks from it to let the previous material to sink in.

I'm somewhat of a fish in a bowl, and at times, just as wet (or dry, depending on how you look at it).

I am in a circle of drinking when the stress hits. Most of it is social anxiety produced. The day after, the stress is under control. That's becuase of the booze from the night previous. You know...

So, the next day after drinking there is that feeling, that hangover, and the accompyaning lack of energy and self control.

That is what's called a low point. In a low point there's less self control, it's hard to catch negative thoughts, it's hard to cope.

The next day after the hangover day...
It's been over 24 hours since a drink. I'm feeling pretty good. I feel like I can cope again, but only so long as I don't beat myself up over failing myself by drinking too much.

The next day again...
I'm feeling pretty great as long as I'm practicing my skills. I have a good portion of control over my thoughts again, I'm so happy that I have this.

The next day after...
Now I haven't drank in days. That's great, I'm very happy about that, but I feel like there's an imbalance now. I feel like I'm getting a little anxious.

And the next day...