I need help from anyone willing to take a little time out of their day

Somtimes it helps just to laugh.
PinUpGal

Post by PinUpGal » Thu Aug 20, 2009 9:02 am

I am writing a book on anxiety, it's been in the works now for a while and the publisher is ready to go. The only problem is I feel like it is missing something, and that something is stories from people who have been through the same things as the people who are going to read this book. I have had Generalized Anxiety Disorder and Panic Disorder since I was a child; I have read every self help book, gone to every type of therapy, been on this board for years etc. I am also a psychologist about to start med school. I thought it would be great to write something from the POV of the therapist but also from someone who has been through it, (and still dealing with it), themselves. I also thought that it would be great if I could bring some humor to the subject. It is a very serious topic, of course, and it's not meant to make light of mental illness however I think it would make people feel better if we could joke around about the things that scare us or that we have been through; make people feel less alone. So I have done the research and the writing but now I would like some help in compiling stories. It would be great if they were funny but fine if they aren't!It will be published and you can choose to have your name in the book or I can leave it anonymous, the only thing that I ask is that you let me know if and when you were diagnosed and if you have ever been misdiagnosed and for how long. Some of the topics I talk about in the book are:

-"What if" thoughts/visualizations (what if I fall down and embarrass myself, what if I am crazy, what if I hurt others or myself, etc.)
-Fear of dying or feeling as if you are dying(heart attack, cancer, etc.)
-Not wanting to get out of bed in the morning
-Feeling like you may be crazy
-Social anxiety
-OCD tendencies