Completely New to This

"Combatting Stress & Depression" Program participant's may post support questions here
j.k789

Post by j.k789 » Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:07 am

Hi, I'm 19 years old and I am just starting this program. Some of you may think "wow, 19 years old and suffering?" Well, I've been stressed and depressed since I was in 5th grade. I never knew how to explain it to anyone and oftentimes I was ashamed of it. I never have had many friends as I've always been shy, but it got worse. Right now, I really don't associate with anyone, not even the "friends" I had when I graduated high school. I was so nervous and anxious that I did not even go to my graduation. Nor did I go to prom or anything or social function my school had. I was (am) too worried about what people will think of me. It is something that's always on my mind.

I have a painfully realist point of view and no one ever saw eye to eye with it, I've always been more "mature" than the kids my age which has been a huge burden in and of itself. People compliment me on it while I, myself, despise it. I don't want to be more mature, I want to be like the other kids and make a jerk of myself, but I have responsibilities that would shock all of you. The way my family life (because of the economy) is right now, I actually almost had our house put in my name. I almost had my own mortgage at 19. This only burdened me further. I have always been forced to be more mature to cope with life. I rarely had the chance to be a kid.