hate being alone

"Combatting Stress & Depression" Program participant's may post support questions here
EllaRose

Post by EllaRose » Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:01 am

Hello, I am new to this and not quite sure how it works, so here goes a try.
I am really struggling right now with being home alone. Whenever family members all leave, I feel my anxious feelings begin. I know I am supposed to be my own safe person and I am getting really good at using all the skills to ward off almost anything when I struggle. But that's when other people are here. When they leave, I feel SO nervous and I feel like I'm almost too frozen with fear to go through the steps - it's like I don't want to even think about anxiety in any form or it'll make me more anxious. Also, I feel that I can't get through the "what-if's" in this situation. I always think, "What if I can't handle this? What if I try being alone and I start going through the steps and then I get into a full-blown panic attack and I need someone and they aren't here. I have to call someone to come home right now BEFORE I get to that place because then I'll be all alone in that state and I can't do that." I fight so hard against those feelings because I just so badly don't want to feel them anymore. I don't know how to not be scared of them. So another part of my thought process in these situations is, "It takes so much energy to get through these things. I just can't do it anymore. I can't fight, I'm too tired, I need someone here." Does anyone out there understand or think that they can advise me? I am depressed at how this effects my family members so terribly. I have to find a way through it. Thanks to everyone in advance.
EllaRose

Post by Guest » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:25 am

Anyone out there?

Post by Guest » Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:35 am