Need help getting past a hurdle...

"Combatting Stress & Depression" Program participant's may post support questions here
bwell12

Need help getting past a hurdle...

Post by bwell12 » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:43 pm

I'm relatively new to the program, but I'm finding myself dealing with the road block of session 3 - trying to tackle my Self Talk. It definitely is where I falter in my life. I've been going over this chapter for 2 weeks now, and still find the negative thoughts keep a coming, and I end up getting frustrated with myself in not being forthcoming with a positive counter thought. Should I just carry on to session 4 and maybe come back to session 3 at a later date? should I spend another week going over the material in session 3? You think I'm being a bit obsessive compulsive ? Duh ! If I'm not being obsessive, I'm dealing with procrastination - "you're just gonna HAVE to get thru session 3 one more time til it sinks in". I won't even get into my fear that I'll give up on the whole thing - deep down I want to deal with this thing once and for all. The discussions on the CD's sound as though it's so systematically easy - or am I reading something incorrectly into this?
I realize I've given several things I'm struggling with, but, I could do with some feed back on where do I go from here? Anyone?

BlueD

Re: Need help getting past a hurdle...

Post by BlueD » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:34 pm

Hey there. I'm sorry your having trouble, I am only on the 2ns cd so I cant really give you advice but I know how frustrating it can be to not get a response! I have posted a few things and no one has answered and it sucks bcus we are supposed to be a SUPPORT group! Well I hope you find some one with an answer but if you need a friend then im here!!

bwell12

Post by bwell12 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:06 am

Thanks BlueD. It was nice of you to commiserate with my frustration. I'm sure someone, somehow will give a response. I'm still hopeful.
bwell12

BlueD