RE: I am New and need some answers

"Combatting Stress & Depression" Program participant's may post support questions here
Juststand2

RE: I am New and need some answers

Post by Juststand2 » Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:56 pm

I posted this in another forum yesterday and did not get any replies. I recently bought the program and is in session 2. I decided to post it here and see if anyone responses.
Hi,
I am relatively new to the program and I am suffering from OCD, the handwashing kind. It is wearing me out physically and mentally. I go from having good days to having bad days. I never know what is going to happen lately. I do not know what it is like to not feel anxious. I know my fear of being contiminated is irrational, but I cannot seem to get pass it. I cannot get anywhere on time. I pick certain places to go to that are clean and other places that I think might cause me cleaness anxiety I avoid. I live alone so it is easy for me to make excuses for doing this and to be fearful. I have done a lot of research on this disease in an effort to get better. I have never taken any meds. and being this out of control is new to me. I desperately want to get better and I believe that with the right direction I can. I have a counselor that I am seeing, but it is not helping. Talking about this every other week to him is not the answer, I need solutions. I do enough talking in my head to myself. I have thought about taking medicine, but I do not want to be hooked, I do not want to be stuck on something for life because I get crazy trying to go off of it, and I would like to try some natural herbal remedies if there are some. I have always been very clean and neat and I had my personal I cannot stand hygiene quirks such as people licking their fingers and touching me. It used to be wash my hands or use hand sanitizer and go on. However, somewhere along the way the problem got worse. I started washing everything off that I thought might be dirty and washing my hands every time I tho