anxiety at work about over serving & looking silly

"Combatting Stress & Depression" Program participant's may post support questions here
mmwillie928

anxiety at work about over serving & looking silly

Post by mmwillie928 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:22 pm

Hi Everyone,
I work as a server. I am new to this line of work. started doing it cause i always thought it would be a fun line of work. after a while of doing it i started worrying "what if i over serve someone and they go out on the road and hurt someone else?". I myself use to party a lot, to the point where i was drinking and driving a lot. now i don't do that, and i am afraid of having anything to do with that cause i don't want to cause harm to others. well, after serving for a while, the thought occured to me that i could over serve someone. I have a fear of shutting someone off, or of not doing it and them getting on the road. I have heard these commercials on the radio that say "buzzed driving is drunk driving" and that has made me all the more paranoid of serving alcohol.
we went through training at work to help us safely serve alcohol. it has helped, but i still get this fear of having to shut someone off, and would i do it? I also think other people i work with aren't as concerned about this as i am, and i worry "what if i try and shut someone off and then they make a big deal about it and my co-workers find out i tried to shut them off and they laugh at me?
so, i am wondering if anyone can sympathize, has gone through something similar, and can maybe offer some helpful suggestions. I mean, i get anxiety over this that i dread going into work.

coachchris

Re: anxiety at work about over serving & looking silly

Post by coachchris » Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:36 pm

We are so good at the 'what-if' thinking. Lucinda challenges us to try and "whatif" in the positive. See if you can use your creative mind to create some really good positive 'whatifs.'

Whatif work is really good tonight and I meet some fun people.