Anxiety, Depression & Sleep

"Combatting Stress & Depression" Program participant's may post support questions here
NinjaFrodo

Post by NinjaFrodo » Wed May 26, 2010 6:34 pm

You know, I've been doing this program for about 6 years and still i would not say that i have recovered yet. I've made alot of progress and I can face many of my limitations but still there is something holding me back...and that would be my sleep.

Did you know that sleep deprivation can make it difficult to understand what other people are saying? Or that it can create an intolerance to general activity? Or when it comes to problem solving it can put you into ridgit patterns that make it difficult to generate new problem solving ideas? How about how it creates slow word recall? Get this, it also gives you a foggy feeling making it difficult to committ to memory, facts, faces, lessons or even conversations. This is on top of the basic knowledge of how it decreases immune system, decreases energy, cognitive functioning, concentration...etc.

For the last 15-16 years I have not been able to sleep properly and I believe that I keep reaching a plateau when it comes to my recovery. The time after everybody else went to sleep was the only time i felt safe while i was in highschool. I would stay up anywhere from 12am to 4am just feeling safe but having to wake up at 7am and i did this every day. This did not stop in highschool and it kept going and still is really. I do however remember a couple incidents when i was able to think clearer and visualize things better (remember visualization is a cognitive function too) and those times were the times i was getting good sleep.