guilt and grieving

Are you needlessly dragging around a one-ton bag of guilt and worry? Here are some techniques that help reduce guilt and worry in your life to produce dramatic, immediate changes.
eb_phila

guilt and grieving

Post by eb_phila » Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:52 pm

I bought the program about 10 years ago, when I was a sophomore in college, and suffering from severe panic attacks. One of the best investments I ever made. It's helped me tremendously then, and many of the skills that I learned have remained with me. However, I still have setbacks during times of high stress, which make me feel very worried and anxious. This is one of those times.

Last weekend, my grandma, to whom I'm very close, was diagnosed with metastatic cancer. I believe she only has several months left. I feel incredibly worried and sad, and don't know what to do. She is 80, but has a strong will to live, she loves everything about life, and really wants to hang on. But unfortunately, with her diagnosis it doesn't seem to be a possibility. She is currently in the hospital, awaiting surgery, but doctors say it's more of a palliative than a curative procedure.

This diagnosis drives me insane. I am so worried about losing her, and terrified about the pain that she will have to endure in her final months. I feel so guilty that she's in so much pain while I can't do anything to help, other than call or visit; I feel horrible doing anything that I enjoy because I feel guilty that I can do it and she cannot. I am also scared of what the stress of her illness might do to my parents (as in, I'm afraid for their health), given the fact that they're going through other stress as well.