Noisy stomach, hate quiet places

Suffering from IBS? Post your history, experience, comments and/or suggestions
Isaiah41:10

Post by Isaiah41:10 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:15 pm

Hey, I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how to overcome this situation. I'm a 26 year old male and whenever I get nervous my stomach makes loud embarrassing sounds. I dread being stuck in a quiet room full of people. However, I have to deal with this twice a week because I'm a student and need to go to class. I just recently had to take a test and my stomach wouldn't shut up. I could hardly concentrate on the test I was so anxious about my stomach making noises. It's not just classrooms though. Most social situations make me uneasy as well. I'm afraid to get involved in any kind of relationship because of my overactive stomach. Has anyone gone through this and recovered 100%? If you're out there I'd like to know what you did. Thanks.

RD terriers

Post by RD terriers » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:56 pm

I've gone through it, and have recovered probably 90%.

A few things have helped me.

I have realized that certain things tend to irritate my stomach (ie, soda). Also, I try to time my meals when I know I am going to be in a quiet place. For example, I don't eat a big lunch and go right into a meeting.

Giving myself permission to leave the meeting, or lecture, or church anytime I need to to take care of my stomach takes a lot of presure on me- and therefore helps my stomach be more relaxed.

More importantly, I realized, it's know big deal. Everyone's stomach makes noise from time to time.

You'll be fine. Let me know if I can help.

RD terriers

Post by RD terriers » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:58 pm

BTW,

Two bigs have helped me a lot:

Dying of Emabarrsment

Breaking the Bonds (of Irritable Bowel Syndrome)

cosmicpixie

Post by cosmicpixie » Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:33 pm