Need pragmatic steps/suggestions to end "What if" thinking

Is your day fraught with worry about something that may (or may not) happen? Stop imagining and anticipating the worst and learn the amazing rewards of living in the moment.
LQGuy

Need pragmatic steps/suggestions to end "What if" thinking

Post by LQGuy » Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:38 pm

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I've had issues with panic and depression for the past 30 years and like many of you, was on medication for much of the time. Since purchasing this product, I find that I can get by without medication and have done pretty well for the past six months without them. However, I'm facing a major hurdle that I can't seem to get over, and I'm hoping someone has specific advice or resources that talk about how to get past "What if..." thinking.

I'm not looking for information that defines what the problem is...I'm the poster child for it! :) Rather, I'm stuck and can't seem to get out/away from it. I'm so stuck that I haven't slept more than 6 hours in three days, and my chest constantly aches (but I'm certain it's not a heart attack....high blood pressure maybe, but not a heart attack). Here's the details:

I work in management and have been with the same government employer for 20 years. I've great job security and decent enough pay. But I have been unfulfilled at this job for several years now. For the past two years, I've sent out applications and was offered a position with a company two days ago. The new job has better benefits and pay than my government job, but has more potential stress involved. In the interview, they said, "you'll need to be thick skinned at times".