unempoyed.........

Is your day fraught with worry about something that may (or may not) happen? Stop imagining and anticipating the worst and learn the amazing rewards of living in the moment.
Leslie Ann

Post by Leslie Ann » Mon Jun 09, 2008 1:59 am

I am having the worst anxiety and depression there could possible be. First of all, I am Bi-polar so I am on medication. I was laid off the beginning of March 2008. Even though I have a college degree in Art Ed (there are no jobs in that field, budget cuts) I have no skills. I am in computer school now to learn excel,word,office,etc. But the economy is so bad rigght now and I am constantly hearing on the news of all the job cutbacks I am so afraid of not finding a job because of all the competition. I am over 50 as well. I don't know what to do. I have no network. And why should someone hire me when there are literally thousands out there looking with more experience. I never worked full time, I was married and we moved alot. Now I am single, over 50 and inexperienced. Also alot of the jobs available pay 9-12 dollars an hour. I can'tlive off of that and don't suggest a room mate. I am off the charts with stress,deppresion,anxiety, i.e scared to death. Anyone in a similiar situation, if you are married don't answer , you have a backup.

Post by Guest » Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:52 am

Well, I guess I am in a similar situation. I am out of work also and single and educated. I quit my job in mid April to look for better work and because the situation was bad and I felt it would only get worse. I was getting more and more anxious and depressed. I wish I had some of the skills we are learning in the program.
We each have advantages and disadvantages to our situations. Do you have any friends or family you are close too? I have a couple.