Bye Bye Checking and Re-checking

Suffering from OCD? Post your history, experience, comments and/or suggestions
Adrien

Post by Adrien » Sun Dec 26, 2010 8:25 am

Hi Everyone!

I am new to the program and to this group and will be starting week 3 today. I must confess that just after 2 short weeks of this course my improvement is about 75% - amazing!

My issues have been more obsessive thoughts that lead to ritualistic type behaviour (mild OCD, according to a counsellor) surrounding leaving my home to out and especially in the morning when going to work. I have a checking compulsion that my home is safe i.e. stove is off,(even though it hasn't been turned on for 2 days), heat is off, balcony doors are locked (we live in a high rise tower) - you get the picture, responsibility for home safety and the safety of my animals. I have the need to check and re-check everything way too many times which turns into a vicious circle and I freak myself out with it. I get all anxious, fearful, heart pounds, hot flashes. It can 10 minutes or more to actually leave my home. Once I am out it is ok, once I have locked the suite door and then pulled the handled numerous times to ensure it is REALLY locked - it is like I don't trust myself and what I see when I check these things, yet I know it is all silly as I do "know" truly all if off and locked, but that isn't good enough. That is when the "what if" gets to me.