Hi

Respect yourself enough to stand up for yourself; your feelings, concerns, and opinions and ask for what you want. Also, learn how to say “no” without feeling guilty
Hiya~

Post by Hiya~ » Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:44 am

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the site! I started the program about 4 years ago, and sort of trailed off before finishing.

Here's where I'm at, and I'd appreciate any feedback from you guys if you have something to say~

I'm 28. I struggled with anxiety through out college, because I never wanted to take the suppressed and conventional route. Yet I did. I think I'm naturally a bit shy, and my parents are naturally overbearing and not supportive, so it was a funky mix.

I graduated from college at 25, getting a degree in a field I could care less about. I feel great, and ready to get a job in that will truly support me, financially and emotionally (in that I won't hate it).

Actually, I'm kind of nervous. Because the job I'd love to have I feel like I don't have the support for, because I feel no-one, family nor friends, views me as independent. I'm doing things to change this perception, by being more loving and assertive. My folks have been out of town for a few weeks, and let me tell you, I can breathe! I know my life is my responsibility, so I'm taking it on!

I have serious physical reactions to stress and anxiety, which has kept me from pursuing my goals. My parents are returning back home after being gone for a few weeks.

Can you guys give me some advice? I want to ensure I keep my momentum going, have privacy around my parents, be treated with respect, and have an honest conversation with my folks, if that's what's needed. (And if you know of a job working outdoors, I'll be there tomorrow!)

It's kind of a lot, but I guess I'm kind of looking for support that I can do my own thing, and one little thing won't throw the whole train off the track.

Thanks~

SeaRunner

Post by SeaRunner » Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:47 pm

Hey Hiya -