Depressed College Student

Anyone suffering from depression may post their history, experience, comments and/or suggestions. Please refrain from indepth discussions about medicines or other therapies.
LoverNotAFighter

Depressed College Student

Post by LoverNotAFighter » Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:02 pm

Hi I am 24 years old and I am utilizing this program to help me through life-changes. I am the youngest out of 8 kids and I struggle with low self-esteem. I am constantly reminded by family members to grow up, but I am in my last year of college and feel powerless financially and feel no real support from my family to leave the nest. I feel that I am ordered around and there is no real relationship between us, so I do not want to help with anything. I fear being taken advantage of. Most of my siblings are over 30 and 40 years old and still take money from my parents and leave me with nothing.

I want independence and I am doing my best to finish my degree this year, but the independence doesn't seem to come soon enough. If they treat me like a child, how do they expect me to grow up. This has left me very depressed and stuck. I am not hopeless, but I have been close to the end many times. This may sound silly, but I just want to be loved and nurtured and I know that if my "love tank" is full, I can do anything. I have a wonderful boyfriend who is fishing in Alaska. I haven't seen him all summer and I will be backpacking with him in a week. He is the only one who gives me love and support. I just don't want to depend on him too much either, because I want to be able to give love to him and not take so much. I am just so down, confused, and it's affecting my life. I would appreciate any responses. Thank you! -Rachel

Paisleegreen

Re: Depressed College Student

Post by Paisleegreen » Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:37 pm