Just BLAH

Anyone suffering from depression may post their history, experience, comments and/or suggestions. Please refrain from indepth discussions about medicines or other therapies.
Seeking Help Jen

Post by Seeking Help Jen » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:31 am

I just feel so blah! I've gotten over the "what if" thinking which was a huge barrior for me. Now I just don't seem to care about anything. I've lost compassion and instead of looking at opportunities as a positive thing I complain about having to do them. For example, I have been applying for jobs and make it to the final two, only to be told my lack of degree is holding me back - - even though I have 13 years of experience in my field. And how do I feel? MAD - - mad that I have to go back to school . . . mad that I have to add to my student loan debt . . . mad that I have to work a second job to help raise two kids when their father isn't required to do much of anything financially . . . mad that I just can't seem to be truly thankful for what I have and the opportunities that come my way. And when I say, lost my compassion, boy do I mean it. WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME and why can't I beat this depression without medication?

Post by Guest » Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:02 pm

Unfortunately, I don't know how to beat depression without medication. I'm on medication and still have bouts of depression. When I get bad news or someone told me I did something wrong, or my fiancé gets irritated with me, I feel like curling up in a corner and crying myself to sleep like I did when I was young. I didn't know it was depression then. And I didn't know I had anxiety. I didn't know I was having panic attacks. I just thought I was way too sensitive. And when I'd go to my mom or sister they'd roll their eyes and say "why are you crying now!?" I learned to keep it to myself and just cry myself to sleep at night.