SAD (seasonal affective disorder)HELP!!

Anyone suffering from depression may post their history, experience, comments and/or suggestions. Please refrain from indepth discussions about medicines or other therapies.
CG822

Post by CG822 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:34 pm

I feel like it gets me worse every year! Sad, lonely, no one to "be with" for the holidays!

Ahhh, How do I get through?! I do have my regular meds I take for my anx/dep, but they don't help me with my SADs!

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I wish the absolute best for everyone. Be good to yourself, you deserve it!

Paisleegreen

Post by Paisleegreen » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:07 pm

I'm an expert on SAD! :p The way I combat it and this was even before I ended up with a deep depression, is to walk at least an hour a day, preferably out in the sunshine.

Next best thing is to sit near a window and read a good book, or do something you enjoy while letting the sunshine reach your eyes, or reflected light if possible.

Then if you can't do that, if the sky is gray, then see if you can get a full spectrum lightbulb. I started out with DR OTT lamps. I have a few, and I sit under them to read or sew or whatever else interest you, so that you get at least 15 minutes of light into your eyes.

Eat foods such as turkey, almonds, fish oil, Evening of Primrose capsules, beans, tuna fish, whole grain breads, and bananas.
Stay away from caffeine, white flour and white sugar the best you can.

Also take a B-complex vitamin, especially B-12 and plenty of water. I also drink 1% milk instead of other liquids. It is good for the bones and teeth, has protein and not much fat and helps curb eating too many sweets. I hope this helps. :) Paislee

FrvrNumb

Post by FrvrNumb » Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:31 am