Re: Hard to stay focused!

Do you have such high expectations of yourself and others that you’re constantly disappointed? Learn how to have realistic, reasonable expectations and be happier than you’ve ever been before.
stevecat

Post by stevecat » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:43 am

Hey everyone! I've been kind of slcking lately. I will occassionally try to listen to the tapes or watch one of the videos, but not on a regular basis. My mom and I went for a walk yesterday which was nice. I've also been reading a lot of dog training books which is something I am interested in. I feel less stressed than I did when I first started, but I have not been motivated to do the program for some reason. Maybe I am expecting too much from myself. That is what this section is all about. One of the big stressors that I have is that of the animal shelter I volunteer at. I have become really involved in the dog walking since I graduated college in May. It helps since I don't work a lot and can't find a job that I want. There are three levels of dogs at the shelter and they won't train me to do the hardest level. I have to walk past these dogs and say "I'm sorry" and many of these dogs are the ones that are getting mouthy, having behavior problems and being put down. Maybe I am expecting too much, but it's a life and death issue. How can you expect too much? Any advice or thoughts would be great. This is where I am at right now. Thanks,

Katie

Post by Guest » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:03 am

Hi Stevecat.

Couldn't you get training for that level somewhere else? You have to understand that the business would be responsible if something bad happened to you while you were training dogs, without proper training yourself. They have to protect themselves from lawsuits. I know that those dogs need someone but there are steps that you have to take before you can get to those dogs. It's sad, but that's just the way it is.
Last edited by deedee00 on Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.