Session 3 - What are your thoughts?

Learn how to comfort yourself, encourage yourself, and like yourself. This session is chock-full of POWERFUL tools for taking charge and changing your life for the better.
dms2013

Session 3 - What are your thoughts?

Post by dms2013 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 9:40 pm

This post is a little bit lengthy but I think it would be a nice read and beneficial to anyone in Session 3. If you'd like to reply (any thoughts, comments, suggestions, your own account, etc.), please do! I would love to hear what you have to say :) .
I started Session 3 a couple days ago and I have to say that I'm feeling more hopeful than I ever have before. Not to say it hasn't been difficult these past few days, physically and emotionally. I'm a college student right now, so it's been difficult for me to whip out my notebook and write down these negative thoughts in the middle of class because I really don't want people to see what's written in there, which I believe is a normal fear since we all know what ridiculous/irrational thoughts we have sometimes. But since I have plenty of other time during the day, I can capture negative thoughts in their tracks then, so in class I don't let myself feel guilty or helpless.
There have also been some emotional ups and downs. Sometimes I'll find myself in such a bad mood and instead of substituting a positive thought, I'll beat myself up with "I cant's", get anxious, and start thinking I won't get better, this is too much for me, and I'll never be able to think positive on a consistent basis. But eventually, I calm myself down and remind myself that this is going to be a long journey in cultivating positivity, so slow down, get comfortable, make it enjoyable, and let these feelings pass (they're going to eventually anyways, mine as well be now!) I'm teaching myself to have short-term memory with bad episodes and to remember the good ones.