Pregnancy and meds?

This forum is not "parents only", but it does focus on issues about parenting and children.
Hail1999

Post by Hail1999 » Tue May 13, 2008 5:24 pm

Hello, I am sort of a newbie here. I used to post 4 years ago when I started the program. I was also pregnant at the time, and I was off my Lexapro so I was trying to cope through the rest of the pregnancy. I have to say that it helped me tremendously that by the last 2 months of my pregnancy I was doing great, as in no symptoms at all. Well, eventually with life and other stressors I ended up getting back on Lexapro. Now I am pregnant again and I have been very nervous and having alot of anxiety about having anxiety that may lead to panic. My doctor has decreased me to 10 mg of Lexapro. But I am having trouble sleeping, some nights I don't sleep at all but my doctor said there is nothing safe to take. I do want the best for my baby and I feel selfish because I worry more about how I am feeling and not on how any of this will affect the baby. Does anyone have any links to websites that have information on anything that is safe to take for this anxiety during pregnancy. Or does anyone know of anything safe that is natural for anxiety or sleep. Thanks for anyones encouragement.
jtilger

Post by Guest » Tue May 13, 2008 5:50 pm

that's a TOUGH one. at the time of my pregnancy, I was just coming to terms with my anx/dep. I was so up on baby-hormones, that my depression took a short break. Then, after 8 years, I went the Wellbutrin route, which was like shining a light onto my condition & sharpening the wrist-razors. May '07 I discovered Lexapro, but have just come to appreciate it after some OFFs and ONs. I believe that Lexapro is to young to kiss & tell, but perhaps MDs and moms can fill you in on their observations / experiences?

Best wishes
HT

Post by Guest » Wed May 14, 2008 1:23 pm