Having a tough time controling my temper with my kids and family.

This forum is not "parents only", but it does focus on issues about parenting and children.
tjmurph73

Post by tjmurph73 » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:11 am

I am having a tough time controling my temper with my kids and family. I have been wrestling with depression and anxiety for all my life and now that I am married with kids, I am finding a whole new element in dealing with this. I have also gotten rid of my addictions (crutches)so here I am, an anxious guy with a short fuse. I don't even see it coming. Does anyone know of a way to at least see it coming? And when that fuse is lit, to be able to stifle it? Thanks for any input. God bless you all.

flowerempowered

Post by flowerempowered » Thu Nov 04, 2010 12:27 pm

Hi,
I am new to the Program but think I might me in a similar situation as you. I am married and have adult stepkids in the house who do not like me being around. To deal with my frustration and lack of control I frequently feel over what goes on around me I have found some of Lucinda's tips helpful this week. I remind myself: I am in control of my thoughts. Do not take that action/comment personally. I am breathing with awareness and slow it down when I get racing thoughts. I have taken short walks, but not angrily,just for me to smell the leaves outside and listen to the crunch, to appreciate those simple things. When I get back I fill up my journal page with positives only. Hope this helps you. Bet the leaves are beautiful in Massachusetts!

Bryson

Re: Having a tough time controling my temper with my kids an

Post by Bryson » Sat Apr 23, 2011 2:33 pm