How do I help my son with his depression/ADD?

This forum is not "parents only", but it does focus on issues about parenting and children.
Struggling Mom

Post by Struggling Mom » Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:03 am

Hi. My son was just diagnosed with inattentive ADD. He also has a problem with depression and anxiety. We are seeing a therapist at the end of the month to start counseling for him. I was divorced from his father 3 years ago and think this is still a big problem for him. He was 3 when his dad moved out. Any ideas on coping skills for children?

Thanks.

Paisleegreen

Post by Paisleegreen » Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:32 pm

I'm sorry to hear about your son, but I have had a lot of experience with this. You have done the right thing to get some counseling for him. Study all you can about ADD/ADHD as it will come in useful in the future days ahead. My son due to many problems with ADHD was first diagnosed as having a Language Processing problem when he was little and wasn't speaking. He was different from my others sons and other children and suffered from Bullies in Jr High and High School. He also became suicidal at age 14 and I took him to a Psychiatrist and he was put on Adderall, but he wouldn't take it due to the "way it made him feel".

Anyway, he managed to go through school due to alternative schools that don't tolerate bullies and allowed for his ADHD which caused him to need more time for school work and no homework.

I'm sorry to say that he did commit suicide, due to depression and bullies but not at his high school, the biggest being an authoritative figure in the school system. I'll leave it at that. I pondered whether to even write what I have, but it is so important to get the word out that there are tender kids out there & that you are doing a wonderful thing in helping your son with his ADD and depression and anxiety that comes with it.

Susan Gilbert

Post by Susan Gilbert » Sun Oct 31, 2010 12:22 pm

Sorry to hear of both of your hardships.