Any parents homeschool?

This forum is not "parents only", but it does focus on issues about parenting and children.
Celeste1

Post by Celeste1 » Sat Mar 08, 2008 3:23 am

I homeschool my children and was wondering if anyone else does. Do you find the responsibility of homeschooling adds to your anxiety?

"Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?"
Jesus Christ
Matthew 6:27

AimCat

Post by AimCat » Sat Mar 08, 2008 3:51 am

Hi, Celeste! My husband and I homeschool our two children, ages 10 and 7. I am new to the program, but I am an old hand at anxiety and depression. I work full time and so does my spouse and we are trying (have been trying for 10 years) to launch a small organic farm. My goal was to quit working off the farm by the time our older son turned 8, so you can see that didn't happen. I can get very anxious about homeschooling -- just will I give them what they need. My older son really benefitted from a reading tutor, but I feel very guilty that if he'd been in school, his disability would have been caught much sooner. Also, uncooperative children stress me out. I/we only have so much time, and fits and refusals waste my time as well as theirs. The "free" afternoon evaporates as the morning tantrums go on and on.
My husband and I are hoping this program can help me and also our whole family. Our older son, especially, needs to learn these skills of resilience also. We've made coaching him in his attitudes and negative mindset the major goal of homeschooling presently. And I need to confront my irritation/anger/depression to help him do it.