parent of a sick toddler

This forum is not "parents only", but it does focus on issues about parenting and children.
Mamma Maria

Post by Mamma Maria » Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:47 am

I am new to the program after dealing with anxiety/depression for years. Sometimes I feel like I am a bad mommy. I am short tempered/irritable. i work 2 1/2 days a week as a nurse. My son is in daycare and is chronically ill. I have contemplated staying home because I feel guilty he is sick constantly. But I think I would go insane to be home. I would love to talk withother moms/dads who have experienced these feeling.
maria

Amy H

Post by Amy H » Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:25 am

Hi,
Is the daycare causing him to be chronically ill or is that something else?

rose_thorn98

Post by rose_thorn98 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:27 pm

Is he new to daycare? My son was sick all the time last year when I went back to work. This year he gets a cold now and then but not very often. Maybe your child is just building is immune system.

I went back to work because I was going nuts in the house. I am better parent because I work out of the home and get the adult interaction my brain needs. There is nothing wrong with you wanting to be out of the house a few days a week. At first I did feel like a horrible Mom for putting him in daycare. But I got over it and he loves going there. He gets the social interaction he needs too. Sounds to me like you are a great Mom. If you were bad, you wouldn't be concerned. Being a parent can brind alot of guilt. The lesson on Worry and Guilt will help you alot with these issues. It did for me. I thin what you are experiencing is normal and the program will really help. It did more me.
~The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.
Martin Luther King, Jr~

IMRD2CHG

Post by IMRD2CHG » Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:09 pm

Dear Mamma Maria,