anxious to be with kids

This forum is not "parents only", but it does focus on issues about parenting and children.
cl1006

Post by cl1006 » Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:10 am

I am new to the program. I am only on week 2. I am started to relize that I am suffering from my anxiety when I know I am going to be with the kids by myself. The problem with this is my husband is gone 14 days out of the month so I am responsible for them by my self alot. I have tried to cut back on my commitments but with 4 very active kids I am having a hard time. I love my kids and I hate that I am afraid I can't take care of them because of the physical symtoms I feel with my anxiety. Can anybody relate?

had enough

Post by had enough » Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:22 am

Hi. I have a young child and work part time. My husband travels time to time so time is scarece. I hired a college girl to give me some "mommy time" so I could focus on me occasionally
Remember, an Eagle never has the same air under its wings.
So it is with life, there is something different each day.

mwgirl

Post by mwgirl » Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:29 am

Hello. I can definitly relate. When my husband would be away my anxiety went through the roof. I would be so scared of being home with my kids. I'd have scary thoughts of losing control and hurting them, or of something happening that I wouldn't be able to take care of them.

Realize it's just your anxiety scaring you. You are a capable and competent mother of 4 active children. You can do it.

Hopefully you have the program. Keep reviewing the relaxtion tape and tapes 2 and 3 on panic attacks and negative thinking. Try and take a little time for yourself while your husbands away.

Take care and God Bless.

Post by Guest » Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:38 am