Cleaning up -- Any naturally neat ppl out there?

This forum is not "parents only", but it does focus on issues about parenting and children.
Faith_TX

Post by Faith_TX » Tue Jun 17, 2008 2:31 am

As I'm recovering from panic, I'm now suddenly noticing more how messy my house is. It's like I'm uncluttering my mind now I want to unclutter my home too and feel more calm and "normal."

My kids rooms are so chock full of toys it really needs to be decluttered. . .plus, we tend to be messy all over and I want to help them learn to help more.

My kids are 8 and 5. What chores do your younger kids do? I mainly just make them put away dirty clothes and dishes and pick up toys. I have been rewarding them with marbles in a jar that they can trade in for cash later. What do you do in your home?

I have heard of Flylady.com but I'm not that good with following a strict step by step. I'm more fluid and want to be able to learn to clean as I go.

Any naturally neat people want to share how you do it?
Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.
~~ Ronald Reagan

curlygirl

Post by curlygirl » Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:06 pm

Hi, I try to be as clean as possible, but my husband is very sloppy and says I OCD on our cleaning. So untrue, before I met him my house was much cleaner. I have a 2 year old that makes a mess and an 11 year old that is learning bad habits from his stepfather. He never picks up his plate after he is done. He always leaves dirty clothes or even dirty diapers around. I get soooooooooooo frustrated and mad, it causes me to go into anxiety chaos. During couples counseling I told my therapist and husband that I wanted the house a mess because in my head I already have clutter. Did it help? NO. Any suggestions?

Faith_TX

Post by Faith_TX » Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:11 pm

Originally posted by curlygirl: